The Butterfly Effect

The Nine Levels of Consciousness

The nine levels of consciousness is a Buddhist system describing the makeup of the conscious and subconscious realms of life. The 8th consciousness is the alaya consciousness. Alaya is a Sanskrit word meaning “storehouse.” The 8th consciousness is a “karmic storehouse” where causes and effects resulting from all one’s thoughts, words, and deeds throughout time reside. The first seven levels of consciousness (the 5 senses, subconscious, the ego) cease upon death, but the eighth persists eternally, carrying with it the distinct nature of one’s being (or soul) throughout the cycle of birth and death. In Buddhism, the concept of soul does not exist, and therefore is not something that can be “bought” or “sold” (as in to the “Devil”).

Alaya means storehouse, but it may be more accurate to say that the life current of karmic energy itself constitutes the eighth consciousness…Moreover, the eighth consciousness transcends the boundaries of the individual and interacts with the karmic energy of others. On the inner dimensions of life, this karmic energy merges with the energy on one’s family, one’ ethnic group and humankind, and also with that of animals and plants.” (The Wisdom of the Lotus Sutra, vol. 4, pp. 262-63)

Butterfly Effect

The Butterfly Effect is a concept that states that “small causes can have larger effects.”


Ripple Effect

The continuing and spreading results of an event or action.

This is why one person’s inner transformation, or “human revolution,” can change the destiny of a family, society and even of all humankind.

Leave a Reply